There are many types of major sex crimes in Illinois but the one that pops up more often than not is when a teacher is accused of having sexual contact with a student. Whether the teacher is female or male doesn't matter but even if the student is 17 years old and the sexual contact is completely consensual, the contact is called Criminal Sexual Assault. Criminal Sexual Assault is cited at 720 ILCS 5/11-1.20 and it is typically charged as a Class 1 felony. It is non-probationable which means that if a person is found guilty of Criminal Sexual Assault, he or she will face a minimum of 4-15 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections. If the student is very young, the charges get more serious and there are a range of sexual crimes that the teacher can be charged with.
In addition to the mandatory time a person faces for the criminal sexual assault statute, any person who is found guilty of this crime must also register as a sex offender for life. Registration as a sex offender is onerous but it can be managed so long as the person who has to register as a sex offender pays attention to the details of the guidelines for sex offender registration.
There are also aspects of this type of criminal case that an experienced defense lawyer can help mitigate for the client. For example, it is possible to obtain a reduction of charges from the mandatory 4 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections if mitigation can be shown. For example, if the teacher was close in age to the student, the crime, while still serious, might be mitigated enough to enable the judge to offer leniency on the case.
Criminal Sexual Assault - 720 ILCS 5/11-1.20 (Typically a Class 1 Felony but up to a Class X Felony)
If you have any questions regarding an investigation if or charge for Criminal Sexual Assault, you should contact en experienced sex crimes defense lawyer immediately.