What happens when a person in Illinois gets arrested for a DUI?
The first thing that happens after being released on a misdemeanor or first time DUI charge is that you have to get your car back. The forfeiture process in Illinois allows most localities to charge you anywhere from $500 - $3,000 just to get your car back after the DUI arrest.
Next, as you look at your DUI arrest tickets and documents, you will notice a form that seeks to suspend your driving privileges in the State of Illinois for anywhere between 6 months and three years. This needs to be attached if you have any hope at all of avoiding the MDDP permit or having your license suspended. The best way to do this is immediately file a Petition to Rescind the Statutory Summary Suspension in the County where you were arrested for DUI in Illinois.
Finally you need to fight to prevent a conviction of the DUI case in Court and the best way to do this is to find a local defense lawyer who has experience in fighting the DUI cases in Illinois.
If you have recently been arrested in Illinois for a DUI charge, you need to contact a DUI lawyer who knows how to fight these charges. John W Callahan has been fighting DUI charges for over 20 years.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment