In Illinois, on January 1st, 2020, the use of recreational marijuana became legalized. However, despite this legalization, there are still laws regarding possession and selling of the substance. Only those 21 and older can legally partake in the consumption and possession of marijuana. Illinois residents who are 21 and older can legally have up to 30 grams of the cannabis flower, up to 500 milligrams of THC infused products, and 5 grams of cannabis concentrate. If a person under 21 possessing marijuana is guilty of a civil law violation. Possession of more than 30-100 grams of marijuana is classified as a class A misdemeanor and can result in up to 364 days of jail time and a fine of up to 2,500 dollars. Possession of more than 100-500 grams is a class 4 felony and can result in imprisonment for 1-3 years and a fine up to 25,000 dollars.
A registered medical marijuana patient is allowed to cultivate up to 5 plants that can be 5 inches or taller. An adult who cultivates less than 5 marijuana plants without a medical marijuana license is guilty of a civil violation that is punishable by a fine of up to 200 dollars. Possession of more than 5-20 plants is a class 4 felony. Possessing more than 20-50 plants is a class 3 felony and can result in imprisonment for 2-5 years and a fine up to 25,000 dollars. Possessing more than 50-200 plants is a class 2 felony and can result in imprisonment for 3-7 and a fine of up to 25,000 dollars. Possessing more than 200 plants is a class 1 felony and can result in imprisonment for 4-15 years and a fine of up to 25,000 dollars.
Despite its legalization, it is still illegal to sell marijuana without a proper license. The minimum punishment for selling or planning to sell 2.5 grams or less of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor and can result in up to 180 days (6 months) of jail time and a fine up to 1,500 dollars. Selling or planning to sell more than 2.5 grams to 10 grams is a class A misdemeanor. Selling or planning to sell more than 10 to 30 grams is a class 4 felony. Anyone who is 18 and over who sells to a minor at least 3 years their junior can be sentenced to imprisonment twice the maximum term of punishment.
These charges are serious and can be life-altering. It is vital to contact a lawyer in order to have your rights protected and obtaining the best outcome on your behalf in a court case.
Contributions by Emma S
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment