Chicago DUI Lawyers Representing Individuals Caught Driving With a Suspended or Revoked Driver's License
Getting around when you do not have a license can be a hassle, but if you are thinking about driving with a revoked or suspended license, think again. It isn't worth it. The penalties are too high. In Illinois, driving with a suspended or revoked license as a result of a DUI is a mandatory jailable offense.
If you have been faced with suspension or revocation of your driver's license due to DUI charges or for multiple traffic convictions and you have been caught driving afterward, the attorneys at the law offices of John W. Callahan, Ltd., can help you fight them. We serve clients in Schaumburg and throughout Kane and Cook counties.
Caught Driving Without a License in Illinois?
To speak within minutes with an experienced lawyer about your charge of driving while your license was suspended or revoked, call us at 1-877-335-6697 today. You can also e-mail us.
People turn to John W. Callahan, Ltd., because we are known for our aggressive criminal defense representation and our strong track record of success with difficult cases. We make a point of intelligently examining every nook and cranny of a case to find as many opportunities as possible to help our clients overcome the charges they are facing.
Understand the Consequences of Driving With a Suspended or Revoked Driver's License
We know that the consequences for driving while your license is suspended or revoked can be serious, especially if you are already dealing with DUI charges. The penalties for driving while your license is suspended is not a simple traffic ticket. It is a criminal offense, sometimes a felony.
The obvious penalty is further extension of your driver's license suspension or revocation. But if the suspension was for DUI, you were speeding or breaking other laws, you could be faced with mandatory jail time. In addition, any hope of obtaining a MDDP or hardship permit is off the table. Your vehicle can be impounded and forfeited. The list of penalties and consequences goes on and on.
- First offense — A conviction for a first-time offense of driving while license suspended (DWLS) or driving while license revoked (DWLR) is classified as a class A misdemeanor. The consequences include a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days in jail with the potential for up to a year. Fines could reach $2,500.
- Second offense — A conviction for a subsequent DWLS or DWLR offense could be classified as a class A misdemeanor or a class 4 felony. There is a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days and the fines jump to as much as $25,000. To make matters worse, your suspension or revocation will be extended several years. It is extremely difficult to get your license reinstated.
A second offense of DWLS or DWLR can be charged as a class A misdemeanor or a class 4 felony (punishable by one to three years in prison and fines up to $25,000). If convicted, the mandatory minimum sentence is 30 days in jail. Your driving privileges will be revoked for several years, followed by a very tough reinstatement process to get your license back.
Do Not Take Chances By Getting Behind the Wheel
The police typically have little sympathy for your need to drive; they are on the streets looking for people to pull over. It only takes an officer a matter of seconds to run your plates and discover that you are driving while under a suspended or revoked license. In many cases, they may discover it when pulling you over for something else, such as speeding, failure to obey a stop light or even drunk driving.
You Can Fight Back. Call Today.
No matter how you were arrested, our lawyers are ready to protect your rights. Don't give up, because with an aggressive defense there is hope. There are opportunities to fight this. Call our law firm at 1-877-335-6693 today. You can also reach us online.